Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Una Serata Italiana (Alliage Quintet)

Friday, July 6, 2018 | 19:30 EDT

$10 – $70

Air conditioned! / Climatisé!

Download Program / Télécharger le programme

The “Alliage Quintett” is one of the most creative and successful saxophone ensembles in the world. Its characteristics are a huge diversity in style, but also the blending of different epochs and ways of playing. Founded by Quebecer Daniel Gauthier, the ensemble is based in Germany and plays regularly all over the world.

Le Quintette Alliage est l’un des ensembles de saxophone parmi les plus créatifs et les plus renommés à travers le monde. On compte parmi ses caractéristiques une très grande diversité de styles mais aussi un mélange de différentes époques et de techniques de jeu. Fondé par le québécois Daniel Gauthier, l’ensemble est établi en Allemagne et se fait entendre régulièrement à travers le monde.

Daniel Gauthier, is currently the only professor for classical saxophone in Germany (Hochschule für Musik, Cologne) and the ensemble’s leader and soprano. He is joined by three of today’s best soloists on saxophone Hayrapet Arakelyan, alto; Simon Hamrath, tenor; and Sebastian Pottmeier, baritone. The quintet is completed by the Korean pianist Jang Eun Bae, an experienced and well-versed chamber musician.

“Alliage” is the French term for “alloy”, referring to the saxophone as an alloy of copper and zinc. In the broader sense, it stands for the musical ideal of the five musicians forming one homogeneous whole, and for their perfectly balanced playing.



Gioachino Rossini                                The Ouverture to  « Il  barbiere di Siviglia




Ottorino Respighi………………………“Ancient Airs and Dances “, Suite No 1

(1879-1936)                                             -Balletto detto „Il Conte Orlando“



-Passo mezzo ed Mascherada                                                                                                                                            (Arr. Wijnand van Klaveren


Antonio Vivaldi/Jun Nagao…………“L‘Autunno“ from „Le quattro stagioni“

(1678-1781)/(1964)                                  -Allegro






Giacomo Puccini/Andreas Hilner… Fantasy after “Tosca”




Antonio Vivaldi /Jun Nagao ……….“L’Estate“ from „Le quattro stagioni“(1678-1781)/(1964)                                                                                       -Allegro




This event is included with your festival pass. Click here to purchase your pass.
Ce concert est compris avec votre passeport du festival. Cliquez ici pour commander votre passeport.

Scroll down to order tickets.
Faites défiler l’écran vers le bas pour acheter les billets


Friday, July 6, 2018
$10 – $70


Music and Beyond


First Baptist Church
140 Laurier Ave W
Ottawa, Ontario  K1P 5J4 Canada
+ Google Map


Tickets are not available as this event has passed.

Refund Policy

All sales are final. Tickets cannot be refunded or exchanged unless an event is cancelled by Music and Beyond.

Politique de remboursement

Toutes nos ventes sont fermes. Nous ne pouvons ni rembourser ni échanger les billets, à moins que Musique et Autres Mondes n’annule un événement.